Wednesday, January 14, 2009

British History Online

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.

Sources included are Local Histories, Historical geography, Maps, Urban & Metropolitan, Parliamentary, and Ecclesiastical & Religious.

Regions covered are:

East - The historic counties of Beds, Cambs, Essex, Herts, Hunts, Norfolk and Suffolk

London - The area now covered by the 32 London boroughs. Includes the historic county of Middlesex, and parts of Surrey, Essex and Kent

Midlands - The historic counties of Derbys, Leics, Lincs, Northants, Notts, Rutland, Salop, Staffs, Warks and Worcs

North - The historic counties of Cheshire, Cumberland, Durham, Lancs, Northumberland, Westmorland and Yorks

Scotland - The 32 historic counties of Scotland.

South East - Includes the historic counties of Berks, Bucks, Hants, Kent, Oxfords, Surrey and Sussex. Parts of Surrey and Kent are included in the London region

South West - The historic counties of Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucs, Somerset and Wilts

Wales - The 13 historic counties of Wales.

Subjects include Administrative and Legal history, Ecclesiastical and Religious History, Economic History, Intellectual, Scientific and Cultural History, Local History, Parliamentary History, and finally Urban and Metropolitan History.

The Periods covered are from the 11th and 12th Centuries down through the 19th Century.

No comments: